Weekly Check-in: Week of 10/28/12

Weight: 146.5 (-1)

Blood Sugar Average Past 7 Days: 135 (-3)

High: 175

Low: 76

Notes:

Even though the numbers are down overall from last week, I feel like I really fell off the wagon this week. First of all, it’s getting close to Halloween, and so candy has appeared in abundance everywhere I look. It’s at home, at work, and perhaps a stronger person would be able to resist, but I am a mere mortal woman and thus, indulged at least once (read: several times).

My 175 was recorded Tuesday after a breakfast of vanilla Greek yogurt, which is a typical breakfast for me. This was a two-hour measurement.

The 76 was recorded by a health care professional who I blogged about last week, using the allegedly top-of-the-line equipment. Still looking into my meter’s accuracy, and will report back when I’ve come to a conclusion.

I also didn’t really do much by way of exercise. My body sculpting class was cancelled this week, and I didn’t do anything to make up for it. I was active around the house, and on Saturday I think I walked four miles during our community trick-or-treat with my son and his two friends (who were all dressed as Ghostface from “Scream”), but I don’t think it made a difference.

Toward the end of the week I made the decision to completely stop my BCP. As I have mentioned in previous posts, I’m wondering if there is a correlation between the hormone found in my birth control pill and my blood sugar. I stopped the pill Friday night, and my Saturday-Monday fastings were 118, 110 and 110, respectively. (Earlier in the week, I saw 130’s and 140’s for fasting)

I have a lot to write about this week, including a product review of something I would NOT recommend, and another successful trip to the thrift store. Hope everyone is staying safe and dry, particularly those of you in the path of Hurricane Sandy.

Leave a comment