Let’s Get Re-Acquainted

I’m not posting here and it’s not because I don’t love you. I do. Really.

I just don’t have anything to  say most days related to my diabetes. I think I’m going through a long denial phase. But it’s because I feel stronger, healthier, more confident and more in control of my life than I ever have before. That’s a good thing, right? But it’s also a bad thing, because in my mind, I think, oh, I’m strong, confident, I feel great – how could I POSSIBLY also have diabetes? That contradicts everything else I’m feeling.

At my last endocrinologist appointment, she expressed concern over my fasting blood glucose numbers. They are high – and they are creeping up higher and higher. My FBG yesterday was 183; this morning it was in the 160’s. I don’t typically have a snack before bedtime. She’s been having me chart my fasting numbers and include anything I ate the night before to try and make some sense of what is going on. The rest of the day, my numbers are normal. It just doesn’t make sense. I’ve read about the morning spike and I’m sure that’s what I have, but it’s getting worse. Some mornings after I eat breakfast, I start to get the blurred vision and general brain fuzziness that in the past has indicated a 250+ level. Even if I just eat a very small portion of carbs, it’s enough to set the already-high blood sugar over the edge.

My next set of bloodwork is going to also test my pancreas level because my endo thinks that maybe I am in need of insulin at night, which would really suck. Something is going on, though.

We know that my A1C, although it has looked stellar, is not a good indicator because of my anemia. It’s completely at odds with my own blood sugar readings. I just read this interesting article which says that a post-meal glucose is actually the best gauge. I should start recording that …

http://chriskresser.com/why-hemoglobin-a1c-is-not-a-reliable-marker

Leave a comment